Passion of the Christ (stupid), and God’s Rules of the game #1, Pain-Pleasure

Still nothing.

It’s now been over a week. I’m not getting a-n-y-t-h-i-n-g from God anymore. I have been questioning God more lately and I fear that this is what led up to this. That’s my guess anyway. Without God telling me, yes, that’s it – this is my guess.

I’m not as worried about it as I used to be. I think if it comes back it comes back. If not, then it doesn’t.

My God, MY GOD, why have you forsaken me?

I saw the supremely idiotic movie “Passion of the Christ” the other night on DVD. I think I got dumber from that movie. 2 hours (more?) of nothing but someone in pain. Did I get the point? Yes. Actually I got the point from the bible which didn’t even detail it as bad as it was shown in this movie. What idiot thought it should be even worse than it was? If you believe the bible exactly as it’s written there is no need to hype it up. To me it was a mockery of what the bible says. A hideous self-serving mockery.

It also brought something else to mind.

Why has God made one of the top ten rules on this planet that we feel physical pain? Emotional pain, ok – I see the need for it. I see the need that we hurt emotionally. But, physically??? Where did that come from? This is part of my questioning process lately. It sort of came from my brother who is asking me to question everything going on in my life. My brother who thinks he knows everything about religion and free-will and has such an open mind. I want to debate him a lot of times but when we do – it comes down to faith-vs.-objective fact. It’s hard to win that one.

One of the prime rules on this planet is the pleasure-pain principle. Humans and nearly all animals feel pain and pain is interpreted as a negative. Something someone doesn’t want to repeat. This is a law, a rule of human kind… this is something not debateable. The degrees to which someone FEELS the pain is debateable. But, suffice it to say, if someone whipped your back with a club attached to leather straps which contained sharp pieces of metal you would feel it in a negative sense. You would not want that repeated.

On the other hand is the pleasure principle which is that we feel some stimuli as positive. We want it repeated. Eating. Smelling. Sex. Massage.

This pleasure-pain continuum pretty much rules our lives. It may be the MOST important rule that God made. It may also be the most strange. Why in a good God’s world would he want to create physical pain? Physical pleasure – I can see… a good God would want that. Physical pain – I cannot see. I don’t want to question it – but, it came up over time – many times – and now again with this stupid movie by this jackass director that hates Jews.

I watched a spider jump on an ant this morning. It jumped from the wall onto the floor where the ant was. Jumped right on his head – and I saw the spider’s head going up and down a couple times like an oil drill. He was biting the tiny ant with his fangs and injecting a poison that would render the ant immobile, but still alive. He then sucked the fluids from the ant as it was alive.

I watched a centipede on a utube video that jumped on a mouse and bit it numerous times in the neck until it died. The centipede then also sucked the juices from the mouse as it died.

When I lived in Maui I was bitten by a centipede. Not a big one like this one in the video, but only about 3 inches long. I was hiking through a stream and sat down for a bit to rest and I felt a sting on my foot which quickly, before I could react to the first feeling, turned into a fire on my foot. When I saw the centipede latched on to my foot I freaked and smashed it with my fist and ground it into the rocks and dirt, cussing it the entire time.  My foot swelled up like my kneecap and hurt for a week.

foot-blood.jpg

I thought then too – what is the point?

Anybody want to enlighten me as to the point?

About Jerry

Mississippi born and raised. I've studied many religions and read the bible through a couple of times. I have a fervent need to share GOD's message since it made itself known to me. This blog is to reveal God's word and daily messages I get from God my savior. NOTE: Well it was for that anyway...
This entry was posted in belief in god, christianity, Doubt, faith, faith in god, God, God Talk, life's lessons, Religion, world religions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Passion of the Christ (stupid), and God’s Rules of the game #1, Pain-Pleasure

  1. Break my body, with the back of your hand
    Doesnt make sense from where I stand
    Baby, baby why you wanna mess it up
    Sooner or later Ill find my place
    Find my body better fix my face
    Please dont ask me
    How Ive been getting off
    Its a fine line between pleasure and pain
    You’ve done it once you can do it again
    Whatever you done don’t try to explain
    Its a fine, fine line between pleasure and pain

  2. Anonymous says:

    the point is if it weren’t for pain, the centipede would have kept on biting you and injecting its poison and your foot would have probably have had to been amputated. Psychology courses teach things like this.

  3. Jon says:

    the point is if it weren’t for pain, the centipede would have kept on biting you and injecting its poison and your foot would have probably have had to been amputated. Psychology courses teach things like this.

  4. Jerry says:

    @Anonymous… No my friend. The POINT can be one of 2 things.

    1. A little pain can tell us the same as a big pain – we don’t need such a huge degree between little and much pain. If I felt a little pain – I’d check it out – oh, centipede, that’s not good – kill it – and that’s the end of that.
    2. Why have centipedes biting my foot for no farking reason?

Leave a Reply

